Extraordinary Athletes, Coaches, and Moments Recognized at the Sports Awards of the Year

CHENNAI, INDIA – The annual Sports Awards Ceremony concluded last night, honoring the remarkable achievements of athletes across various disciplines. With a distinguished lineup of winners, the evening celebrated their exceptional contributions to their respective sports. From thrilling track and field performances to exemplary team sports victories, the awards highlighted the dedication and talent of these exceptional individuals. The event also recognized the efforts of coaches and organizations that have played a significant role in promoting sports at different levels.

Among the winners, the Men’s Relay Team emerged as the Sportsman of the Year in the track and field category, showcasing their exceptional speed and teamwork. Parul Chaudhary was awarded Sportswoman of the Year for her impressive accomplishments in track and field events. In team sports, Hardik Singh and Mohammed Shami were recognized as the Sportsmen of the Year, while Vandana Katariya stood out as the Sportswoman of the Year. Their exceptional performances demonstrated their skill and dedication to their respective team sports.

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty received the prestigious Sportsman of the Year (Individual) award for their outstanding achievements in their individual events. Meanwhile, Rameshbabu Vaishali and Sift Kaur Samra were honored as the Sportswomen of the Year (Individual), highlighting their exceptional skills and determination. The para-sports category witnessed Sumit Antil and Thulasimathi Murugesan emerging as the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, respectively, showcasing their incredible strength and resilience.

The awards ceremony also recognized the immense contributions of Rahul Dravid, who was named Coach of the Year. His guidance and mentorship have been instrumental in shaping the success of several athletes. The event also highlighted promising young talent, with Prathamesh Samadhan Jawkar and Tillotama Sen honored as the Young Achievers of the Year in the male and female categories, respectively.

Legendary cricketers Chandu Borde and Karnam Malleswari were bestowed with the Lifetime Achievement Award, commemorating their lasting impact on the sport. As for the coveted titles of Sportstar of the Year, Neeraj Chopra and Sheetal Devi were crowned in the male and female categories, recognizing their exceptional performances and inspiring journeys.

Recognizing the power of teamwork, the India Men’s Cricket Team received the National Team of the Year award, celebrating their collective achievements in the sport. Meanwhile, the Saurashtra Cricket Team was acknowledged as the Club/State Team of the Year for their outstanding contributions.

The ceremony also commemorated memorable moments in sports, with Sheetal Devi’s astounding bullseye shot earning her the Moment of the Year award. Muttiah Muralitharan was recognized as the International Icon, a testament to his extraordinary accomplishments as a cricketer.

Additionally, the awards celebration acknowledged the efforts of various entities in promoting sports. Tamil Nadu was recognized as the Best State for the Promotion of Sport, while NTPC Ltd. received the Best PSU award in recognition of their support. Tata Steel Ltd. was honored as the Best Corporate for the Promotion of Sport, and SRM Institute of Science and Technology was awarded as the Best University for the Promotion of Sport. The event also highlighted the impact of sports for social good, with the Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board receiving the Sport for Social Good award. Finally, Rohan Bopanna was awarded the Ace of Aces Award, acknowledging his outstanding achievements in tennis.

The Sports Awards Ceremony served as a reminder of the incredible talent and passion that exists within the world of sports. These athletes, coaches, and organizations continue to inspire and motivate, pushing boundaries and setting new benchmarks for future generations.