Renowned Film Critics and Industry Leaders Announced as Jurors for SXSW Film & TV Festival Competitions

Austin, Texas – The SXSW Film & TV Festival has announced the jurors for this year’s competitions in various categories. The festival, known for its impact on awards season, will hold the Films & TV Awards on Wednesday, March 13 at the Paramount Theatre in Austin, Texas.

SXSW is an official qualifying festival for the Academy Awards®, BAFTA nominations, and Independent Spirit Awards. Winners in certain categories at SXSW become eligible for Oscars consideration. British short films and animations showcased at SXSW are also eligible for BAFTA nominations.

The Narrative Feature Jury includes Jake Coyle, a film writer and critic for The Associated Press; Robert Daniels, an Associate Editor at; and Joanna Robinson, a podcaster and cultural critic for The Ringer.

The Documentary Feature Jury features Siddhant Adlakha, a critic and entertainment journalist from Mumbai; David Fear, Senior Editor and Film Critic at Rolling Stone; and Lovia Gyarkye, a critic at The Hollywood Reporter.

The Narrative Shorts Jury consists of Clementine Quittner, Co-CEO of Small Ideas production company; Kristian Mercado Figueroa, a Puerto Rican filmmaker known for his music-driven short films; and Chris Rosati, Vice President of Development and Production at Monkeypaw.

The Documentary Shorts Jury includes Loren Hammonds, Head of Documentary at TIME Studios; Christine Kecher, Senior Commissioning Editor for Op-Docs at The New York Times; and Tina Nguyen, VP of Documentary Programming at HBO.

The Animated Shorts Jury comprises Bryan Dimas, a Producer at Warner Bros. Animation and Cartoon Network Studios; Angeline Izquierdo, a creative force at the Oscar-winning Shadowmachine animation studio; and Ivana Kvesić, Director of the Fantoche – International Animation Film Festival in Switzerland.

Mariama Diallo, a Brooklyn-based writer-director, and Alex Kim, Vice President of IP Scouting and Acquisitions at Monkeypaw, make up the Midnight Shorts Jury. They are joined by Nick Romano, a Creative Executive at 18Hz horror production company.

The Music Videos Jury consists of Oualid Mouaness, an award-winning director, writer, and producer known for his captivating music videos; Kimberly Stuckwisch, an award-winning director and producer known for her work addressing social issues; and Brittany Spanos, a staff writer at Rolling Stone.

The Texas Shorts Jury includes Cat Cardenas, an Austin-based writer and photographer covering entertainment and Latinx culture; Barak Epstein, a producer and founder of the Texas Theatre in Dallas; and Chelsea Hernandez, a Texas Monthly-picked filmmaker known for her documentaries on community and social justice.

The TV Pilot Competition Jury features Kat Candler, an award-winning director known for her work on popular shows; Christine Dávila, founder of Global Cinematheque and US Delegate for the Berlin International Film Festival; and Caroline Vanstrom, Director of Development and Production at Fifth Season.

Lastly, the Poster Design Jury comprises Oliver Barrett, a renowned artist and designer; Jenny Jacobi, Mutant CEO and advocate for international cinema talent; and Kevin Tong, an acclaimed artist known for his compelling illustrations.

These jurors will play a crucial role in selecting the winners and recognizing outstanding talent at the SXSW Film & TV Festival. The festival continues to showcase innovative and impactful works in the film and television industry.