Renowned Filmmaker Jennifer Kent to Judge at the 2024 Sundance Film Festival’s World Cinema Dramatic Competition

PARK CITY, Utah — The 16 jurors who will decide the winners at the 2024 Sundance Film Festival were announced by the Sundance Institute. The festival, now in its 40th edition, will take place in Park City and Salt Lake City from Jan. 18-28, with a selection of films also available online from Jan. 25-28.

The jury is made up of a diverse group of individuals from the film, art, and culture sectors. All jurors are festival alumni who have had their own films showcased at Sundance in the past. In addition to serving on the jury, they will participate in special celebratory programming held in honor of the festival’s milestone anniversary.

The awards for feature films in the five competition sections will be announced at a ceremony on Jan. 26 at The Ray Theatre in Park City. The winners chosen by the short film jury will be revealed at the Shorts Awards & Party on Jan. 23.

The juried films will be screened in person and online from Jan. 27-28. Packages for both online and in-person award winners are currently on sale, with single film tickets available starting Jan. 11.

The 2024 Sundance Film Festival jury is comprised of Debra Granik, Adrian Tomine, Lena Waithe, Shane Boris, Nicole Newnham, Rudy Valdez, Jennifer Kent, Mira Nair, Rui Poças, Mandy Chang, Monica Hellström, Shaunak Sen, Christina Oh, Danny Pudi, Charlotte Regan, and Zal Batmanglij.

Another notable award, the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize, has already been presented to “Love Me,” directed by Sam and Andy Zuchero. This prize is awarded to a film that prominently features science or technology or includes a scientist, engineer, or mathematician as a significant character.

The Sundance Film Festival continues to be a platform for emerging artists and independent storytellers. With a jury of esteemed professionals and a lineup of innovative films, this year’s festival promises to be another showcase of artistic excellence and cinematic achievement.