The 2024 Sundance Film Festival Announces Jurors for Awards of Artistic and Cinematic Excellence

PARK CITY, Utah — The Sundance Institute, a nonprofit organization, announced today the jurors for the 2024 Sundance Film Festival. The festival, celebrating its 40th edition, will take place from January 18-28, 2024, in Park City and Salt Lake City, Utah, with select films also available for online viewing from January 25-28. The jurors will grant awards for artistic and cinematic excellence in various categories.

The 16-member jury is made up of film, art, and culture experts who are all alumni of the Sundance Festival. In addition to serving on the jury, they will participate in special programming and events commemorating the festival’s 40th anniversary. The winners of the feature film awards will be announced during a private ceremony on January 26, 2024, at The Ray Theatre in Park City. The winners of the short film awards will be announced on January 23, 2024, at the Shorts Awards & Party presented by Argo and WeShort.

The jurors for the U.S. Dramatic Competition are Debra Granik, Adrian Tomine, and Lena Waithe. Shane Boris, Nicole Newnham, and Rudy Valdez will serve as jurors for the U.S. Documentary Competition. Jennifer Kent, Mira Nair, and Rui Poças will judge the World Cinema Dramatic Competition. Mandy Chang, Monica Hellström, and Shaunak Sen will oversee the World Cinema Documentary Competition. The Short Film Program Competition will be judged by Christina Oh, Danny Pudi, and Charlotte Regan. Zal Batmanglij will serve as the juror for the NEXT competition section.

The Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize, awarded to a film focusing on science or technology as a theme, will be presented to “Love Me,” directed by Sam and Andy Zuchero, according to the jury made up of film and science professionals. The jury for this prize includes Dr. Mandë Holford, Dr. Nia Imara, Matt Johnson, Theresa Park, and Courtney Stephens.

The Sundance Film Festival, known for discovering and showcasing emerging artists, relies on its jury to recognize and amplify the next generation of independent storytellers, said Festival Director Eugene Hernandez. Kim Yutani, Director of Programming, expressed excitement about the jury members’ return to Sundance, their understanding of the festival community, and their ability to connect with the curated films.

In addition to the jury awards, festival attendees will have the opportunity to vote for the Audience Awards and the Festival Favorite among the films in various competition categories.

The Sundance Film Festival, organized by the Sundance Institute, has been a platform for independent filmmakers since 1985. Many films that premiered at the festival have gone on to receive critical acclaim and reach diverse audiences worldwide. The festival showcases a wide range of fiction and nonfiction works, as well as series, performances, and conversations. The 2024 Festival will host in-person events in Utah, as well as online screenings—providing audiences with an opportunity to engage with innovative storytelling and bold new artists.

The Sundance Institute relies on the support of sponsors, including Acura, AMC+, Adobe, Audible, United Airlines, and others, to ensure the success of the festival and to sustain its year-round programs for independent artists. Individuals can support the Sundance Institute by making a donation on their website.

As the 2024 Sundance Film Festival approaches, audiences are eagerly awaiting the opportunity to experience the extraordinary films and participate in the celebration of independent storytelling. The festival is a testament to the power of film as a creative medium and a platform for diverse voices.