EY India Announces Finalists for Entrepreneur of the Year 2023 Awards, Showcasing Remarkable Innovation and Global Impact

MUMBAI, INDIA – EY India has announced the finalists for the EY Entrepreneur of the Year-India (EOY) 2023 Awards, as it celebrates its silver jubilee year. These 11 entrepreneurs have been recognized for their exceptional achievements in building successful enterprises. Together, they have generated revenues exceeding Rs 14,70,000 crore, possess a market capitalization exceeding Rs 42,00,000 crore, and employ over 12,50,000 people worldwide.

In addition to selecting the finalists, EY also revealed that Venu Srinivasan, Chairman Emeritus of TVS Motor Company, will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Natarajan Chandrasekaran, Chairman of Tata Sons, will receive the Special Jury Award.

The esteemed panel of judges commended the finalists for their innovation, disruptive business models, and commitment to sustainability. The diverse group of finalists includes CEOs, founders, co-founders, and chairmen of renowned companies from various sectors.

Arun Nathani, CEO of Cybage Software, Alakh Pandey, Prateek Maheshwari, CEO & Founder/Co-founder of PhysicsWallah, Anand Deshpande, Founder and CMD of Persistent Systems, Deepinder Goyal, Founder and CEO of Zomato, Lalit Keshre, Co-Founder & CEO of Groww, Prabh Das, MD & CEO of HPCL Mittal Energy, Rafique A. Malik, Chairman of Metro Brand, Sanjay Gupta, CMD of APL Apollo Tubes, Shahid Bilakhia, Founding Member of Micro Life Sciences (Meril), Vellayan Subbiah, Chairman of Tube Investments of India, and Cholamandalam Investment and Finance, along with the team from ICICI Bank, are the finalists for the prestigious award.

Rajiv Memani, Chairman of EY India, expressed his congratulations to the finalists for their resilience and remarkable impact on a global scale. He also commended N Chandrasekaran and Venu Srinivasan for their outstanding leadership and vision, which has inspired future generations of entrepreneurs.

The winners of the EOY 2023 Awards will be honored on Friday, February 23, in Mumbai. The event will feature multiple categories, with the national winner representing India at the prestigious EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award (WEOY), which will be held in Monte Carlo from June 4-7, 2024.

The selection process involved a comprehensive evaluation of over 260 nominations by an independent jury panel. The panel consisted of prominent business leaders in India, led by K V Kamath, the former chairman of ICICI Bank. Other members of the jury included Dilip Shanghvi, MD of Sun Pharmaceuticals, Falguni Nayar, Founder and CEO of FSN E-commerce Ventures (Nykaa), Gaurav Trehan, Partner and Head of Asia-Pacific at KKR India, Ranjan Pai, Chairman of Manipal Group, Sanjiv Bajaj, CMD of Bajaj Finserv, Sajjan Jindal, Chairman of JSW Group, Sunish Sharma, Managing Partner and Founder of Kedaara Capital, and Shailendra Singh, MD of Peak XV.

The EY Entrepreneur of the Year-India Awards serves as a platform to recognize and honor the outstanding achievements of Indian entrepreneurs who have made significant contributions to the business landscape. Through their innovative ideas and relentless determination, these entrepreneurs have redefined success and inspired others to pursue their entrepreneurial dreams.