Sundance Film Festival 2024 Announces Impressive Lineup of Competition Jury Members

PARK CITY, UTAH – The 2024 Sundance Film Festival has announced the members of its Competition Jury and the jurors for the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize. The festival, known for discovering and promoting emerging artists, has selected 16 alums from past editions to serve on the Competition Jury. The list includes notable figures such as Debra Granik, Adrian Tomine, and Lena Waithe in the U.S. Dramatic Competition category.

Additionally, the Alfred P. Sloan Jury, which deliberated ahead of the festival, has chosen Sam and Andy Zuchero’s film “Love Me” as the winner of their science and technology-focused award. The jury members for this special category include Dr. Mandë Holford, Dr. Nia Imara, Matt Johnson, Theresa Park, and Courtney Stephens.

The festival is taking place in person in both Park City and Salt Lake City from January 18-28, with a selection of films also available online across the country from the 25th to the 28th. Films in competition categories awarded by the jury will be screened in person and online from January 27-28.

The winners of the feature awards will be announced at a ceremony on January 26th at The Ray Theatre in Park City. The short film jury winners will be announced at the Shorts Awards & Party on January 23rd.

In addition to awarding prizes, the members of the Competition Jury will take part in various celebratory programming events, including talks, panels, trivia nights, and parties for artist alumni.

Director of Programming Kim Yutani expressed excitement about the participation of past festival jurors, noting their understanding of introducing new work to the Sundance community. This year’s jury is eager to see which films resonate with them.

The 2024 Sundance Film Festival marks its 40th edition and will honor independent storytellers who are the driving force behind the festival’s success. The jury members’ expertise and insights will contribute to the festival’s ongoing mission to discover and amplify the next generation of visionary filmmakers.

The festival’s organizers are thrilled to announce the accomplished jurors and believe their presence will enrich the curated selection of films for this year’s event.

In summary, the Competition Jury and Alfred P. Sloan jury for the 2024 Sundance Film Festival have been unveiled. The festival aims to showcase emerging artists and celebrate independent storytelling. Winners of the feature awards will be announced at The Ray Theatre on January 26th, and short film jury winners will be announced at the Shorts Awards & Party on January 23rd. The festival will include both in-person and online screenings, allowing audiences across the country to experience the curated films awarded by the jury.